Sites down; changing server on Sunday

The server on which my sites are hosted is reporting abnormally high load averages, which is what usually happens when my sites are unavailable, which they have been for the past half hour.

During DreamHost’s network problems, they moved me to my current server a month ago. Since then, I have been experiencing short outages associated with load-average spikes: the outages last about 10-20 minutes, and occur between one and three times a day. (The current outage has lasted longer and appears to be much more severe.)

It turns out that I should not have been moved to that server, which seems to be even less stable than my previous server. So we’re moving again — on Sunday afternoon (2 PM PDT, 5 PM EDT). The move should take an hour or so to complete, and there may be some brief downtime associated with it. Hopefully, though, it’ll put an end to the periodic outages I’ve been facing for the past month: they’ve been short enough not to cause serious problems with my sites, but frequent enough to be annoying.

As for the current outage, it seems to be abating at the moment (8:55 AM EDT).

Update, Oct. 1 at 11:40 PM EDT: The server move did not take place as scheduled. DreamHost apparently had some trouble today (I was out and about so missed the opportunity to freak out about it) and I suspect I got lost in the shuffle. I’m still raising hell about it.

Oct. 1 at 11:48 PM EDT: No sooner had I written the above … DreamHost has initiated the server move. It should be on a new server within the hour, if all goes well.

Comments are closed.

